Start Planning

Mexico Public Holidays

Today – 4 July 2020 – is not a holiday in Mexico.

Discover upcoming public holiday dates for Mexico and start planning to make the most of your time off.

Mexico currently celebrates seven national holidays, four official bank-only holidays, and one traditional holiday. Under the Labor Laws of Mexico, businesses are required to provide a paid day off to employees for the seven national holidays only. Businesses have the option of giving a day off to employees for the bank or traditional holidays, but are not required to provide these days off with pay.

If an employee is required to work on a national holiday, under the labour laws businesses are required to pay the employees a rate of three times their hourly wage for every hour that they work on that day. Additionally, employees are not required to work a full shift on these days if they do not desire and are allowed, under these labour laws, to determine the length of time they work on a holiday.

Holidays are governed under the labour laws. However, the government reserves the right to add holidays as one-time events if the situation arises. Holidays that occur on a weekend are not moved to the following Monday in Mexico at any time.

It should be noted that the Feast of Our Lady of Guadalupe is such a large celebration in Mexico that most businesses and government offices close on that day, despite the fact that it is not a national holiday.

Previous Years